Friday, August 7, 2009

U.S. Mens team Roster announced for World Cup Qualifier in Mexico

The U.S. Men's National Team head coach Bob Bradley released the names of the 20 players that will play in the FIFA World Cup qualifier against Mexico on Aug.12 in Mexico City. The kickoff is set for 3 p.m. CT at Estadio Azteca. The U.S. team is currently in second place of final round qualifying for the 2010 FIFA World Cup,

The U.S. has never won in Mexico, and has only earned one draw, (0-0) in 1997, during World Cup qualifying at Estadio Azteca. However on U.S. soil the team has dominated for over a decade at home with a 9-0-2 record until Mexico finally beat the U.S. with their victory in the Gold Cup final in July. The U.S. team with a lifetime record of 0-22-1 in Mexico looks to return the favor and get their first victory in Mexico!

So what’s the issue with the U.S. team winning in Mexico? In my opinion there are 4 reasons why:
1-Confidence, The U.S. just hasn’t figured out yet that they can win in Mexico.
2-Team Mexico itself. They are a unified team, that on its own home soil has the attitude that they would almost rather die than loose,
3-Altitude&Smog, when combined, well enough said!
4-Then there is the crazed completely loyal out of control 100,000 fans that will be packed in the stadium. Ever gone to a home game at Kyle Stadium to watch A&M play, well magnify that 100 fold!

What’s the answer? Well I believe that if the U.S. Team has an X-Factor, it’s Tim Howard. Howard is unbeaten in five matches against Mexico and has posted an impressive five shutouts in seven all-time World Cup qualifying appearances. Howard also earned the Golden Glove award in South Africa as the tournament’s best goalkeeper! And like The U.S. Team just not knowing they can win in Mexico, The Mexico national team just doesn’t know if it can beat Tim Howard!

That being said good luck to The USA National team and here is the Roster

GOALKEEPERS (2): Brad Guzan 5/3, Tim Howard 11/7 SO

DEFENDERS (7): Carlos Bocanegra 21/3, Jonathan Bornstein 2/0, Steve Cherundolo 18/0, Jay DeMerit 2/0, Chad Marshall 0/0, Oguchi Onyewu 16/1, Jonathan Spector 2/0

MIDFIELDERS (6): Michael Bradley 10/4, Ricardo Clark 5/0, Clint Dempsey 17/4, Benny Feilhaber 1/0, Stuart Holden 0/0, José Francisco Torres 5/0

FORWARDS (5): Jozy Altidore 8/5, Conor Casey 5/0, Brian Ching 15/6, Charlie Davies 2/1, Landon Donovan 30/11

*numbers indicate all-time World Cup Qualifying caps/goals

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.